Rhode Island Small Estate Affidavit | Affidavit of Heirship

When a loved one who lived in or owned property in Rhode Island passes away, the successors may file affidavits of heirship, small estate, or for motor vehicles. The value of the estate may not exceed $15,000, and heirs must wait at least 30 days after the loved one’s passing to file the affidavits. In addition, Rhode Island does not allow small estates to avoid probate court without one of the successors filing to become a voluntary administrator of the estate, which incurs many legal responsibilities. Additionally, the decedent may not have left a last will and testament.

Affidavit of Heirship: Rhode Island requires successors who file an affidavit of heirship to find or become a voluntary administrator of the personal property in order to catalog and protect the items and finances of the decedent.

Affidavit of Heirship, Vehicle Only: This affidavit allows successors of a Rhode Island decedent to claim the loved one’s motor vehicles.

Small Estate Affidavit: Real estate claimed through a small estate affidavit in Rhode Island may not exceed $15,000 in value.

In Rhode Island, one of the successors who files the affidavit of heirship must also file to become the voluntary administrator or executor of the decedent’s estate. This person is responsible for submitting an inventory of the property, pay debts and expenses of the deceased (such as medical expenses or…

The affidavit of heirship for vehicles, under Title 33, § 33-24-1 of Rhode Island law, allows heirs to claim the motor vehicles – including cars, trucks, RVs, and boats – owned by a decent who lived in the state or had these vehicles registered in the state of Rhode Island….

In Rhode Island, an executor of a small estate may be named in a will and other successors may still file a small estate affidavit to collect real estate property, not including motor vehicles. If no executor is named in the will, then one of the successors must also file…