Nevada Small Estate Affidavit

In Nevada, the revised statutes NRS 146.070 state that successors may file a small estate affidavit if a loved one dies without a last will and testament. The statutes were changed in October 2015 to update the value of estate to reflect the closeness of the successor to the decedent. If a surviving spouse files a small estate affidavit for real estate, then the value of the property cannot exceed $100,000; other close relatives can file the affidavit, but the value of the property cannot exceed $25,000; and if other successors file the affidavit, then the value of the property may not exceed $20,000.

How to Write

Step 1 – Download in Adobe PDF or Microsoft Word (.doc).

Step 2 – Enter the following into the form:

  • Header – Enter Superior Court (See List)
  • Name of Decedent
  • Date of Birth
  • Case Number
  • Check the three (3) boxes depending on your situation
  • Date and Sign
  • Verification – On the last page you will be required to verify that everything you have stated is true and accurate

Step 3 – Obtain a notarized copy of the death certificate, and file the form with the proper clerk or courthouse.