Michigan Small Estate Affidavit | Affidavit of Heirship
Michigan law determines that small estates are valued at $24,000 or less. If a person resides in or owns property in Michigan, and they pass away without a last will and testament, then successors may file either an affidavit of heirship or a small estate affidavit to claim the decedent’s property and distribute it without going to probate court. The affidavit of heirship focuses on personal or real property, including bank accounts; the small estate affidavit determines real estate distribution in the event of the owner’s passing without a will.
Affidavit of Heirship: In Michigan, the law requires a 28-day waiting period after a loved one’s passing before successors may file the affidavit of heirship, and the personal property may not exceed $24,000 as of 2021.
Small Estate Affidavit: In 2021, the Michigan probate law updated to allow successors to file a small estate affidavit if a decedent’s real estate was valued at $24,000, raising the value from $15,000.