The Missouri small estate affidavit and affidavit of heirship are essentially the same thing, and cover real estate owned by a deceased person. Per the state’s Revised Statutes Section 473.097.1, successors may file a small estate affidavit between 30 days and 1 year after a loved one passes away, and the estate may not exceed $40,000 in value. Spouses and creditors have rights of refusal in Missouri, which allows them to collect debts or inheritance beyond the other successors. If there is too much debate or complication, the estate may go to probate court.
How to Write
Step 2 – Enter the following into the form:
- Header – Enter Superior Court (See List)
- Name of Decedent
- Date of Birth
- Case Number
- Check the three (3) boxes depending on your situation
- Date and Sign
- Verification – On the last page you will be required to verify that everything you have stated is true and accurate
Step 3 – Obtain a notarized copy of the death certificate, and file the form with the proper clerk or courthouse.