Colorado Small Estate Affidavit | Affidavit of Heirship

Many states, including Colorado, allow successors to apply for heirship of a deceased loved one’s estate through affidavits of heirship and small estate affidavits. This allows the family and other successors to avoid the time and expense of probate court, and keep their loved one’s estate private. In Colorado, successors may apply for these affidavits 10 days after the owner has passed away.

Affidavit of Heirship: If a person passes away in Colorado and did not leave a will, and their personal and real property are valued less than $10,000, successors may petition to avoid probate by filing an affidavit of heirship. This helps grieving family members claim personal property such as bank accounts and last paychecks.

Small Estate Affidavit: If a decedent’s real estate values $60,000 or less, including stocks and unpaid wages, family or other successors can file a small estate affidavit to claim the real estate and distribute it outside of probate court.



Adobe PDF | Microsoft Word (.doc)

In Colorado, if the decedent did not leave a will, and their personal and real property are valued less than $10,000, successors may petition to avoid probate by filing an affidavit of heirship. If the property values between $10,000 and $20,000, summary administration may be used instead, as long as…

Adobe PDF | Microsoft Word (.doc)

Colorado’s small estate laws allow successors to apply for heirship of real estate 10 days after a loved one passes away. These laws keep estates valued at $60,000 or less, including stocks and unpaid wages, out of probate court. This can help save the family and other successors time, court…